Management options for selections

Apart from creating and deleting, there's more you can do to manage your selections. Below, you'll find an overview of management options for selections and miniselections.

Copying and moving selections

It's not improbable that at some point, you'll accidentally create a selection in the wrong place. This is not a big problem: Copernica allows you to easily move the selection to the right location. Additionally, you might want selections that are almost, but not entirely the same. In this case, it's easier to copy a selection and modify it than to create one from scratch.

When you move a selection, you automatically move any subselections along with the selection. This is optional when copying a selection. Note that no two selections can have the same name in your database.

Copying or moving a selection can be done under Profiles > Database management > Manage selections > Copy or move selections. In doing so, no profiles are lost.

Displaying profiles in a (mini) selection

You can display the profiles in a selection by simply clicking its name in the left menu in Publisher. For profiles in mini selections, to to Current view and click Subprofiles.

Authorize a selection for emails

Before you can start sending emails to profiles in a selection, you must first authorize it for email sending. In Publisher, this is done under Database management > Set intentions and in MarketingSuite you can select its intentions when creating it. Setting intentions prevents you from accidentally sending emails to selections that should not receive emails, such as unsubscribers. If these options are not clickable, it's probably because you don't have a corresponding field in your database. You'll need to create these first.

Delete, deactivate or archive?

It's a good idea to (temporarily) remove selections you never or rarely use from your database. Copernica has three options to do that: delete, deactive or archive. A selection that is not used at all is best deleted. Selections are rebuilt often, which takes up computing power. Therefore, having less selections will make your database faster. Removing a selection does not mean the profiles in it are removed.

Deactivating a selection is useful for selections you're not currently using, but do plan on using again in the future. This will also cause your other selections to build quicker. When you want to use a deactivated selection, simply reactivate it and it'll still be there in its original form. It is not possible to deactivate a selection in its entirety, but you can deactivate its conditions, which has the same effect.

Lastly, selections can be archived. That way, you can see which ones you currently use and which are not as important. Note that archived selections remain active, so they still take up computing power and make your database slower. If you're going for performance, it's best to delete or deactivate selections.

Back to top of page